Wild Salmon with Crunchy Sweet Vinaigrette

27 Jul

Last night my S.O. and I went grocery shopping TOGETHER.  This doesn’t happen often.  He hates grocery shopping.  I love grocery shopping.  Whenever he comes with me, he is utterly shocked when the whole process takes more than 10 minutes and he follows me around with the cart like a magnet.  I try to explain to him that it’s much easier to just park it at the end of the aisle while you get the stuff you need (which is what I usually do, to avoid traffic), but he insists on following every step I take with the cart. He’s a bit like a little kid: asking me what the difference is between the Frontier Organic Cayenne Pepper and the 365 Cayenne Pepper, and loading up the cart with three different flavors of Mochi Ice Cream.

But, he DID have input when he told me he was in the mood for fish for dinner, which made me happy because I will eat fish any day of the week. I picked out a nice darkish red wild salmon fillet from the fish market and “epicurioused” (can that be a new term?) a good recipe when I got home.

This came out awesome.  I adjusted the recipe quite a bit from the original. It’s basically a mix of two recipes I read.

Wild Salmon with Crunchy Sweet Vinaigrette

Adapted from Gourmet

Ingredients

1/3 cup white-wine vinegar

1/4 cup Dijon mustard

1/4 cup Whole grain mustard

1/4 cup firmly packed light brown sugar

2 tablespoons  vegetable oil

freshly ground black pepper to taste

2 tablespoons soy sauce

1 small shallot, chopped

1/4 cup chopped fresh dill sprigs

two 2 8oz  salmon fillets with skin

In a bowl whisk together vinegar, mustard, dill, shallots, and brown sugar.

Preheat broiler and grease a cookie sheet.

Rinse salmon fillets and pat dry. Arrange fillets, skin sides down, in pan.  Brush salmon with glaze and season with pepper and salt. Broil salmon 3 to 4 inches from heat about 8 minutes, or until just cooked through.

Leave a Reply

