Cheesy Zucchini

30 Jul

Cheesy Zucchini has got to be one of my all-time favorite comfort foods–Which is why I refuse to come up with some fancy alternative name for it. My mother use to prepare zucchini this way all the time (probably significantly more often than she would have if she did not have cheesy zucchini-obsessed children). Since “leaving the nest”, I have made it for myself several times, but I don’t think any time has ever been the same.  Since I’m leaving for family vacation in Maine in a couple of days, I will have to remember to ask her for her official recipe.

But, in the meantime, here’s mine.  I’ve ran into a significant enough number of people who don’t particularly like zucchini (sometimes it can have a slightly bitter taste), and in my experience, adding some form of bread and/or cheese to anything tends to up its approval rating. And you should eat zucchini because its high in Folic Acid, which we all love.

Cheesy Zucchini

Serves 4

Ingredients

3 medium to large zucchinis, sliced into 1/2 inch rounds

1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon thyme leaves

1/3 cup unseasoned bread crumbs

1/2 teaspoon garlic powder (or fresh minced garlic if you want it to be more intense-I personally think its much too intense)

1/4-1/3 cup freshly grated parmesan

salt and pepper

Preheat the oven to 425° and grease a cookie sheet. Toss the zucchini slices in a bowl with olive oil, garlic, and thyme leaves.  Arrange on cookie sheet in one layer. Sprinkle a pinch of breadcrumbs, a generous sprinkle of parmesan, and some salt and pepper to taste on each round. Bake for 10-15 minutes, or until the cheese is melted and the breadcrumbs are golden brown.

Leave a Reply

