Chicken Paillards with Clementine Salsa

8 Mar

I’m coming off the tail end of a long string of time in which I hardly cooked any chicken. I’ve been eating tons of seafood and  eating more red meat. (I, like most women, have a bit of an iron deficiency). This past fall I was cooking whole roast chickens like it was my job. I eat a lot of Mexican food (my friends love Mexican so much they instated a Mexican Saturday to the weekly schedule) and my Mexican food almost always contains chicken. Last summer I was all about fruity and mustardy skewars on the grill. Let’s be honest, I’m never gonna get sick of anything that’s on the grill, but the rest of the year is a bit different. I don’t know about you, but I find myself seeking out countless ways to make boneless skinless chicken breasts. Rosemary, Lemon, and Garlic in a pan, orange-marinated in a stir fry, coconut and cumin-crusted in a taco,  you name it. A lot of people seem to be going the red meat-free direction these days, and although I’m not one of them, I know what its like to cook and eat a lot of chicken.

Let’s face it – chicken is boring. You can only eat salt and peppered strips on your salad so many days of the week before you start questioning if you should get tofu instead. This recipe is here to save the banal day. So get your manual meat tenderizers out and get ready to flatten some chicken.

Chicken Paillards with Clementine Salsa

From Bon Appetit

Makes 4 servings

Ingredients

4 5-ounce chicken boneless skinless chicken breast halves

4 clementines, peeled, diced (about 1 cup)

1 cup cherry tomatoes, quatered

1/2 cup finely diced red onion

1/2 cup finely diced celery

1/4 cup coarsely chopped fresh basil

1/4 cup coarsely chopped fresh cilantro

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

2 tablespoons fresh lime juice

1 serrano chile, seeded, minced

2 tablespoons olive oil

1/2 cup fresh clementine juice (from about 6 clementines)

Place chicken breast halves between 2 sheets plastic wrap or parchment paper, spacing apart. Using mallet, pound chicken to 1/4-inch thickness. DO AHEAD: Can be made 1 day ahead. Cover and chill.

Mix clementines and next 8 ingredients in medium bowl. Season with salt and pepper. DO AHEAD: Salsa can be made 2 hours ahead. Cover; let stand at room temperature.

Uncover chicken; sprinkle with salt and pepper. Heat olive oil in large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add chicken and cook until slightly browned and cooked through, about 3 minutes per side. Transfer chicken to platter. Add clementine juice to skillet; boil until reduced to 1/4 cup, stirring often, about 2 minutes. Drizzle sauce over chicken. Spoon salsa over and serve.

Leave a Reply

